enJOY

Sunday is sure to be one of the toughest days in this first year without my mom. I believe it will get easier as years go on, but I am sure the next hardest one will be when I celebrate with my child. Then I read this article and felt more hopeful. 

I already share so many of the sentiments in this piece, so at least I have some semblance of what the future will hold. 

I think.  

And that’s the thing, we all think we know something about what the future holds. And we probably do have a good handle on some things… We dream big! We make plans! We have hobbies! We chat about school, vent about family, gush about food. Life is good. We focus on the positive, share good vibes, and say our prayers. We do that everyday soulwork — whatever it may be. But at some point the soulwork gets hard and sometimes – lots of times – you don’t ask for it or want it. 

We know that death is inevitable. This is a guarantee. Someone you know will die one day. Someone you love deeply. And there is going to be a point when you can do nothing. 

Of course no one wants to talk about this. This is an ugly feeling. Just writing it makes me feel like that goopy, dark, blob of a monster from Little Nemo. 

And ya know what? I don’t want you to have to think about it because it sucks. (Sorry, Mom, I know you hate this word, but I also know you would agree with its usage here.)

So, I would like to echo the advice from this article: Wherever you are on Sunday, whoever you are with, whatever you are doing, be all there and enJOY. Hug her a little tighter. Talk a little longer. Take it all in and appreciate what’s in front of you. 

One thought on “enJOY

  1. Aunt kathie says:

    Oh my sweet coley! Your words are beautiful. Special love ❤️ wish I was there to give you a hug! Tonight or tomorrow will catch up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

