Stuck in Second Gear

Recently, I started to watch Friends from the beginning. I know many people who are huge fans, and have always enjoyed watching the show, so after my therapist told me I should watch funny movies, I decided Friends would be a good TV show selection.  As I was watching, I heard something my mom used to say. “Who is FICA? And why is he taking all of my money?!” I laughed until I cried. I craphed. I felt like Rachel Green. I felt connected to my mom.

img_8666-1

I took to the internet to make the above graphic and came across many articles saying how relatable the character of Rachel Green is. It gave me comfort because she is totally “learning how to adult.” As I read the articles and continued to watch this iconic show, my appreciation for the rest of Rachel’s friends, and their role in helping her through her “learning to adult” phase, grew immensely.

These characters work so beautifully together. Their personalities compliment each other, they bring out the best in each other, and they just have a good time learning and growing together. The quirks and traits of these dynamic characters provide audiences with many facets of personality to relate to. Not to mention, it’s highly quotable in everyday life! Two of the most important aspects of a good sit – com.

In this current season of my life, I am so Rachel. I am struggling to “adult” and look to my friends for guidance, love, and laughs. I looked at the rest of the cast, and smiled because, like Rachel, I have great friends in my life to help, inspire, and guide me through this time.

I look at my “Monica” and am in awe of how she can possibly be holding a great job, cooking meals, keeping a condo clean, entertaining friends and traveling with her man. If she can do it, so can I. I look at my “Phoebe” and am so grateful someone is as weird as I am. She is someone who can make my problems seem small and encourage me – in sometimes outrageous ways – that tomorrow will be better. If she can do that for me, I can do that for others.

I miss my “Chandler” – an endless source of entertainment, wit, and laughs – an all around great guy who has always been there for me. I look at my “Joey,” a theater friend whose ridiculous antics sometimes make me nervous, but who never fails to put a smile on my face or make me feel welcome. And then there’s my “Ross” who isn’t currently casted.

And for the first time in my life, I’m happy there’s no Ross casted. I have been able to focus on myself, my family, my career, and my friends. In this season of my life, I need my these peoples’ love and support so I can continue to grow.

As I grow, I look at my friends through a lens of inspiration, not jealousy. The grass isn’t always greener on the other side. They were Green at some point too.

Leave a Reply

